Skip to product information
1 of 1

Johan Leijonhufvud Trio

Harlem Nocturne

Harlem Nocturne

Regular price €11,90 EUR
Regular price Sale price €11,90 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


Together with Finish double bass player Johnny Åman and Swedish drummer Niclas Campagnol, Johan Leijonhufvud brings music with an intimate atmosphere and a friendly interplay. Besides two original tracks composed by the guitarist, the album includes eight songs from various authors, a repertoire from jazz classics to rock ballads, written over five decades on three different continents.

Harlem Nocturne is the perfect album to put on while having an enjoyable dinner, gathering with your friends, covid safe of course, or an intimate romantic evening with the person you love. It is an album for lovers, family, and friends. Its warm and inviting ambiance can set the tone for many beautiful memories.

The bandleader spoke of Harlem Nocturne from his home in Berlin: “I heard a story when I was a young child. It was a spellbinding story, told in magic, beautiful language I never heard before. It came from my parents’ vinyl player. I think that’s when I became a musician. I just had to learn that language and tell that magic story. On my new album Harlem Nocturne, I had the great pleasure of working with two other amazing storytellers. We began to meet and play during the lockdown in spring 2020 in a cottage in the middle of nowhere in southern Sweden. I felt very comfortable with Johnny and Niclas, with their experience and knowledge and their honest ambition to tell another story with me.”

Sometimes in jazz it seems like musicians forget that music is for people. Johan Leijonhufvud has always been a musician who connects with his audience. I witness it every time I see him play. It is this bringing together of people that Heartcore Records is all about. Check out this album. I think you will agree.

Kurt Rosenwinkel


1. The Song My Lady Sings by Charles Lloyd (4:40)
2. The Marten by Johan Leijonhufvud (3:19)
3. There’s a Boat That’s Leavin’ Soon for New York by George Gershwin (4:16)
4. Harlem Nocturne by Earle Hagen (4:22)
5. Strange Brew by Eric Clapton, Gail Collins, Felix Pappalardi (3:37)
6. Welcome by Johan Leijonhufvud (6:23)
7. Shoulders by Cedar Walton (3:42)
8. Three Views of a Secret by Jaco Pastorius (5:16)
9. A Flower Is a Lovesome Thing by Billy Strayhorn (4:32)
10. Canção Do Sal by Milton Nascimento (4:36)


Guitar – Johan Leijonhufvud
Acoustic Bass – Johnny Åman
Drums – Niclas Campagnol

Recorded by – Benedikt Vogt, Guy Sternberg
Mixed by – Charis Karantzas
Mastered by – Douglas Henderson
Produced by – Kurt Rosenwinkel

Recorded at – LowSwing Tonstudio
Mastered at – micro-moose-berlin

Artwork by – Michaela Bóková
Graphic Design – Vojta Drnek

Production Manager – Michaela Bóková

Released on

View full details