About The Chopin Project

Kurt Rosenwinkel – Guitar
Jean-Paul Brodbeck – Piano
Lukas Traxel – Acoustic Bass
Jorge Rossy – Drums

Legendary jazz guitarist Kurt Rosenwinkel and acclaimed Swiss pianist Jean-Paul Brodbeck join forces on The Chopin Project, a historic collaboration which finds them reinterpreting the music of Chopin for jazz quartet. Rosenwinkel and Brodbeck are joined by Lukas Traxel on bass, who plays in the Jean-Paul Brodbeck Trio, and Jorge Rossy, a stalwart member of the Spanish and American jazz communities. 

Rossy’s percussion and Traxel’s bass provide an enveloping and energetic textural world for Brodbeck’s piano which outline the beauty of Chopin’s compositional structures, while subtly reorganizing them into the logic of jazz. Rosenwinkel’s ecstatic lead lines fly over the band, metamorphosing Chopin’s familiar melodies into something profoundly new.